ODI cricket world cup winners list (1975 to 2023)

Cricket, often called a gentleman’s game, has a unique ability to unite nations and ignite passions like no other sport. One of the most prestigious events in the cricketing world is the ICC Cricket World Cup. This tournament, held in the One Day International (ODI) format, has been a spectacle of talent, determination, and sportsmanship since its inception in 1975. In this article, we embark on a journey through time, unveiling the complete list of ODI Cricket World Cup winners from 1975 to 2023.
The Evolution of ODI Cricket

Before we delve into the list of champions, let’s take a moment to appreciate the evolution of ODI cricket. One Day Internationals, characterized by limited overs (usually 50 per team), have provided fans with thrilling encounters where every ball counts. Over the years, the format has witnessed significant transformations, from colored clothing to the introduction of powerplays and the Decision Review System (DRS). These innovations have added layers of excitement and strategy to the game, making the ODI World Cup a truly remarkable event.

The ODI Cricket World Cup Winners: A Historical Perspective
1975 – West Indies: The Pioneers of Glory

The first-ever ODI Cricket World Cup, held in England, saw the West Indies emerge as the inaugural champions. Their formidable batting lineup and fearsome fast bowlers paved the way for an unforgettable victory.

1979 – West Indies: A Dominant Force

West Indies continued their reign in the second edition of the tournament, held in England again. Clive Lloyd’s leadership and the likes of Vivian Richards and Joel Garner ensured that the Windies remained invincible.

1983 – India: A Historic Upset

The third edition of the World Cup in England witnessed one of cricket’s most significant upsets when Kapil Dev’s India stunned the world by defeating the mighty West Indies in the final. This victory marked the beginning of a cricketing revolution in India.

1987 – Australia: The Rise of a Cricketing Powerhouse

In 1987, the World Cup moved to the Indian subcontinent, where Australia clinched their first title. The era of Australian cricket dominance had begun, thanks to players like Allan Border and David Boon.

1992 – Pakistan: Imran Khan’s Glory

Imran Khan’s Pakistan emerged victorious in a rain-affected tournament in Australia. This win not only brought joy to Pakistan but also established Imran Khan as one of cricket’s greatest leaders.

1996 – Sri Lanka: A Fairytale Triumph

The 1996 World Cup in the subcontinent belonged to Sri Lanka. Under the leadership of Arjuna Ranatunga and the brilliance of Aravinda de Silva, Sri Lanka triumphed, showcasing their cricketing prowess.

1999 – Australia: The Era of Domination Continues

Australia, under Steve Waugh’s captaincy, asserted their dominance yet again in the tournament held in England. This marked their second World Cup victory and solidified their status as cricket’s powerhouse.

2003 – Australia: A Hat-Trick of Triumphs

Australia, captained by Ricky Ponting, made it three in a row in South Africa. Their team, with legends like Glenn McGrath and Shane Warne, showcased cricketing excellence.

2007 – Australia: The Unstoppable Force

In the Caribbean, Australia continued their winning streak with a fourth consecutive title, further cementing their status as the most dominant team in ODI cricket.

2011 – India: Sachin’s Dream Come True

The cricketing world watched in awe as India, led by MS Dhoni and fueled by the brilliance of Sachin Tendulkar, lifted the World Cup on home soil after a gap of 28 years.

2015 – Australia: A Fifth Crown for the Kangaroos

Australia, under the captaincy of Michael Clarke, secured their fifth World Cup title in a thrilling tournament held jointly by Australia and New Zealand.

2019 – England: A Thrilling Finale

In a dramatic final at Lord’s, England, led by Eoin Morgan, clinched their maiden ODI World Cup title. The final against New Zealand will be remembered for generations to come.

2023 – TBD: The Future Awaits

As of 2023, the ODI Cricket World Cup is yet to be concluded. The cricketing world eagerly awaits to witness who will etch their name into the annals of history as the champions of the 13th edition of this prestigious tournament.

Subcategories of ODI Cricket World Cup
Player of the Tournament

In every World Cup edition, one player stands out for their consistent performances. This award recognizes the player who has made the most significant impact on the tournament.

Highest Run-Scorer and Wicket-Taker

Cricket enthusiasts eagerly track the race for the highest run-scorer and highest wicket-taker awards. These statistics showcase individual brilliance within the team sport.

Fair Play Award

Cricket is not just about winning; it’s also about playing in the right spirit. The Fair Play Award acknowledges the team that has displayed the best sportsmanship throughout the tournament.

Emerging Player Award

Young talents often use the World Cup as a platform to announce their arrival on the international stage. The Emerging Player Award recognizes the best young talent in the tournament.


The ODI Cricket World Cup has witnessed a fascinating journey from its inception in 1975 to the present day in 2023. The tournament has evolved, and cricketing giants have risen and fallen, but the essence of the game remains intact. It continues to be a celebration of skill, passion, and the spirit of sportsmanship.

As the world eagerly anticipates the culmination of the 2023 ODI World Cup, we are reminded that cricket is more than just a sport; it’s a shared experience that unites nations and transcends boundaries. The winners’ list is a testament to the ever-changing landscape of cricket, where the underdogs can rise, champions can fall, and history is written on the pitch.

Stay tuned for the epic showdown in 2023, and let us continue to celebrate the spirit of cricket, where the only certainty is the uncertainty of the game itself.

Scroll to Top