How many countries have ODI status?

How many nations are designated as ODIs? New and seasoned cricket fans alike frequently ask this question. This article will examine the number of nations that now play in One-Day Internationals (ODIs), the development of ODI cricket, and the requirements that nations must satisfy in order to receive ODI status.

One-Day International (ODI) cricket is a form of limited-overs cricket played between two teams with international status. Each team bats for a fixed number of overs, currently 50, and the team with the most runs at the end of the match wins.

ODI cricket is the second-most popular form of international cricket, after Test cricket. It is also the most popular form of cricket in many countries, such as India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.

How many countries have ODI status?

Currently, there are 19 countries that have ODI status. These countries are:

  • Afghanistan
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • England
  • India
  • Ireland
  • Kenya
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Pakistan
  • Scotland
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • United Arab Emirates
  • West Indies
  • Zimbabwe

The number of countries that have ODI status has changed over time. In the early days of ODI cricket, only the Test-playing nations had ODI status. However, in recent years, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has granted ODI status to more non-Test-playing nations.

Criteria for ODI status
  • The country must be a member of the ICC.
  • The country must have a domestic cricket structure that is well-developed and competitive.
  • The country must have a national team that is capable of competing at the international level.
Benefits of ODI status

There are a number of benefits to having ODI status. These benefits include:

  • The opportunity to compete in the ODI World Cup and other international tournaments.
  • Increased funding from the ICC.
  • More exposure on television and other media.
  • More opportunities for players to develop and improve their skills.

The number of countries that have ODI status is increasing each year. This is due to the growing popularity of cricket around the world. The ICC is committed to developing cricket in all countries, and ODI status is an important step on this journey.

Meta description

How many nations are ODI members? Everything you need to know about the history of ODI cricket, the number of nations holding ODI status, and the requirements that nations must satisfy are covered in this page.

  • History of ODI cricket
  • Criteria for ODI
  • Benefits of ODI
Additional information

In addition to the 19 countries that have ODI status, there are a number of other countries that are aspiring to gain ODI. These countries include:

  • Canada
  • Denmark
  • Germany
  • Hong Kong
  • Italy
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Oman
  • Scotland
  • United States of America

These countries are all making good progress in developing their cricket structures and national teams.

The ICC is also working to develop cricket in even more countries. This is being done through a number of initiatives, such as the ICC World Cricket League and the ICC Development Programme.

The goal of the ICC is to make cricket a truly global sport. By increasing the number of countries that have ODI status, the ICC is helping to achieve this goal.

Scroll to Top